Winter-wonderland or Winter-horrorland?

I love snow! It’s always been my favourite! I prefer it over christmas, but appreciate it anytime!

People in Britain seem to disagree I think. As soon as it snows, the whole country seems to get to a standstill! A few inches of snow and everybody starts panicking. Schools and businesses shut down… There are so many countries out there that have ten times more snow and cope perfectly well!
I know, I know, they are much better prepared for it! Especially if the country gets that much snow each year, they’ll have precautions, etc.  But still, it’s sad that other countries seem to be fine with snow and Britain just crumbles as soon as there is a few inches!

I don’t know how it was for the rest of the country, but the snow we had and have here in Cardiff is actually quite bad. The first day of snow was amazing. It was really a winter wonderland! =) It was proper snow and no ice… I’m glad to have been able to enjoy that day! went out for a nice long walk and took some pictures…
After that it started going downhill! =( The weather got a bit warmer, so the snow started to melt, and that meant ice! The next day it snowed a bit more, but then it warmed up again and all of that turned into ice as well! So for a week now it’s been going warm – cold – warm – cold…. never warm enough for the snow and ice to disappear. Only enough for the snow to melt enough to turn into ice as soon as it goes cold again.

It’s really annoying to walk in that sort of snow as well! It’s so watery… Usually I hate those waterproof boots. I think they look ridiculous! But in this weather they actually make perfect sense!
You’d think living in Cardiff, where it constantly rains, I would have invested in waterproof shoes by now… but nope… I finally bought a raincoat but no shoes yet. Silly really! Should be my next purchase!

Also another thing that is pissing me off about this weather: Royal Mail! I could have sworn that I saw them opposite our street yesterday… but they haven’t been to our street in two days now! I am so annoyed! They better come today! =( Don’t understand why they’d be skipping us!!! =(

I wish we had the proper winter wonderland rather than this slushy, weird snowy-ice stuff. oh well. We had one day and I’ll keep that in memory and hope for more next year! ^^  (or rather christmas this year!)

 

Leave a comment